Plaza District Association to honor Paula Stover with 12th annual Urban Pioneer Award

The 16th Street Plaza District Association will honor Paula Stover, Managing Director of Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma, as the recipient of the 2016 Urban Pioneer Award at 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, June 1 at the Oklahoma City University School of Law, 800 N Harvey Ave. Presented by Fowler Volkswagen of Norman and Oklahoma Employees Credit Union, the Urban Pioneer Award is given annually to individuals in the Oklahoma City community who exemplify Oklahoma’s pioneering spirit with their leadership and commitment to urban revitalization.

“Paula has a rich history in the arts community and is able to utilize and manage precious resources to mold and create exceptional dynamic points for growth and change. She embraced our crazy idea to buy a dilapidated theater in the middle of the Plaza District and provided the day-to-day leadership necessary to make it a success. We should applaud her not only for her contributions to the Plaza District, but for her life’s work as an advocate for the arts.” – Lou Kerr, Plaza District Board of Directors and 2006 Urban Pioneer Honoree.
Paula’s affiliation with Lyric spans more than 40 years. What began as a volunteer opportunity and a passion for theatre became a distinguished career. It was under her leadership that Lyric made its home in the Plaza District in 2000 and she has played a key role in establishing the framework for unprecedented organizational growth.
Lyric has been a driving force behind the renaissance of the district with the re-adaptation of the Plaza Theatre into a premier performance venue that has brought thousands of new faces to the area, employed hundreds of artists and cultivated the next generation and theatre patrons and performers. And, for many years, the driving force behind Lyric has been Paula Stover.
This is the twelfth year for the award.  Tom McDaniel was the first honoree in 2005, followed by Lou Kerr (2006), Meg Salyer (2007), Mike Turpen and Mark Funke (2008), Ann Simank (2009), Steve Mason (2010), Bill and Bob Ross (2011), Wayne and Michelle Coyne (2012), Chip Fudge (2013), Midtown Renaissance (2014) and Heather and Keith Paul (2015).
The event is the largest fundraiser each year for the Plaza District Association.  Proceeds support ongoing neighborhood revitalization efforts.  There are five sponsorship levels for table seating, ranging from $250 (seating for two) to $5,000 (presenting sponsor, seating for eight).  Email Cayla Lewis at for information. Individual tickets for the luncheon are now available for sale for $45 and can be purchased at
A special Urban Pioneer Award Happy Hour will take place at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 31 at Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma, 1725 NW 16th St. in the Plaza District. The happy hour will feature behind the scenes stories from Paula Stover in a casual environment with local craft beer by Anthem Brewing Company and light bites by our host. Individual tickets for the happy hour are now available for sale for $25 and can be purchased at  A bundle option is available including tickets to both the luncheon and happy hour for $65.


About Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma

Founded in 1963, Lyric is Oklahoma’s leading professional theatre company.

For over 50 years, Lyric has produced classic and contemporary musicals and plays featuring both nationally known Broadway stars and local favorites. Lyric produces four large-scale, fully orchestrated musicals at the Civic Center Music Hall each summer, as well as four smaller works at the Plaza Theatre during the spring, fall and winter. 

Lyric is proud to be Oklahoma’s leading professional theatre and continually strives to produce Broadway-caliber productions for Oklahoma audiences.
Lyric’s Thelma Gaylord Academy is a professional training ground for students ages 5-18 offering classes in all aspects of musical theatre. Academy students have the opportunity to perform in two full-scale productions each year on the Plaza Theatre stage.

Lyric provides over 250 jobs annually and employs nationally recognized directors, designers, actors, artists and artisans who join local professionals from across the state.

To learn more about Lyric, visit

Sponsorship Levels
The Plaza District Association is a 501c(3) non-profit organization. Your donation is tax deductible as allowed by law.

$5,000 Presenting - Presenting sponsorship branding on all printed event marketing materials and web promotions, branding on email invitation, table seating for 8, name recognition announced on stage, branding on website throughout 2016-2017.

$2,500 Platinum - Branding on email invitation, branding on printed event materials, table seating for 8, name recognition announced on stage, branding on website throughout 2016-2017.

$1,000 Gold - Branding on printed event materials, table seating for 8, name recognition announced on stage.

$500 Silver - Branding on event program, table seating for 4.

$250 Bronze - Branding on event program, table seating for 2.


Urban Pioneer Awards Luncheon $45

Oklahoma City University School of Law Wednesday - June 1st, 11:30AM
Join us as we honor Paula Stover at the Plaza District's annual Urban Pioneer Awards luncheon at Oklahoma City University School of Law. 


Urban Pioneer Awards Happy Hour with PAULA STOVER $25

Presented by


Lyric Theatre, TUESDAY - MAY 31ST 5:30 - 7PM
The evening before the Urban Pioneer Awards Luncheon, join us for drinks, conversation and behind the scenes stories with PAULA STOVER. 

Want to attend both? Bundle both events for $65!

Urban Pioneer Awards Luncheon - Bundle Ticket
Add To Cart